Joy Will Find a Way

Released: 1975
LP: True North 23
CD: East Side Digital ESD BRUCE3; Columbia 48744


  1. Hand-dancing (4:30)
  2. January in the Halifax Airport Lounge (3:19)
  3. Starwheel (3:16)
  4. Lament for the Last Days (5:24)
  5. Joy Will Find a Way (A Song About Dying) (3:50)
  6. Burn (4:08)
  7. Skylarking (3:20)
  8. A Long-time Love Story (4:41)
  9. A Life Story (6:16)
  10. Arrows of Light (4:55)

From: All Music Guide

Each of his early efforts hold up well to repeated plays, but this is one of the best from that period. Cockburn's wonderfully delicate acoustic guitar sounds great here, tastefully aided with spare sympathetic accompaniment. "Burn" and the title cut were popular tracks in Canada, but "A Long-Time Love Story" and "A Life Story" project a quiet strength that's entrancing.

Rick Clark

Douwe van der Zwaag